New Zealand Flax Flower

Phormium, a coloured variation among some plants that I grew from seed. These nectar laden flowers bring the bellbird to my garden and she sings beautifully for her supper. Like the cabbage tree, flax is a member of the Agave family.

I have been very moved by all the caring comments left on my yesterday's blip about the earthquakes. I wish I could pass them on to the people who deserve them, the people of Christchurch. I was fortunate. I could leave the city and come home. They have had 36 after shocks since the first big one yesterday. I was wakened early this morning by yet another magnitude 5 centred more than 70 kms away from here, which must have been another frightening one in Christchurch. Quakes of that magnitude don't cause as much material damage as they do psychological. When they start there are a few very long seconds when you don't know if they will fade away or turn into a really big one. Then the scientists say that yesterday's quakes increase the probability of more big ones over the next six months. That is extremely stressful for many.

It is Christmas Eve here. I wish a very happy Christmas to all of you who celebrate it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.