Pohutukawa: New Zealand Christmas tree

My favourite NZ native tree and flower the Pohutukawa (po-hu-too-car-waa).

Thank you for all your thoughts, prayers and comments yesterday. It makes a difference.

I didn't sleep well last night. Not surprising after yesterday's seismic upheaval at home. I was dismayed on waking to see the graph of overnight aftershocks. We know that territory so well. A few tears shed and then out the door for a run.

My legs felt like lead and I didn't have yesterday's lightness and energy. But it was good to be out and take the tracks through the remants of Kauri forest in the reserve. Then along the beach until my tiredness said to call it a day and meander home.

As the day progressed I've focused more on here and now. It's precious time to be savoured and that's what I did.

Some time catching up with my sister in law and then lots of time with Mum as Dad was out helping my brother. Mum and I pottered - lunch, then I tidied and prepared her finger nails for nail polish. We chose new polish at the chemist, sucked on grown ups ice blocks together, looked at the beach then headed home to start applying the layers of base, colour and top coat.

In between each coat we went for a small walk. Good distraction to keep hands that can't keep still from spoiling those nails ;-) It worked. Then a small g&t for Mum on the couch with the newspaper and large g&t for me in the kitchen preparing dinner. That did the trick too ;-)

Back home my neighbours are fine. We have power, water and sewer. My friends and extended family are mostly fine. Everyone is shaken, tired and on edge.

I love Pohutukawa trees. Always have, always will. They flourish in the north and flower around Christmas, hence the reference to the NZ Christmas tree.

I couldn't help thinking as I walked with Mum that the same nature and power that gifts us this striking beauty of red and green Pohutukawa against a vivid blue antipodean sky is the same that unleashes strange and unsettling forces beneath us.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.