Table for Four

A lovely day with my darling S, daughter J, and mother in law. Joined later in the day by S' brother, his wife and older son, across from Melbourne.

I started the day with a quick look at mail and then out for a run. After a brilliantly clear sky in the middle of the night, the morning was cloud covered. Down on the Snells Beach waterfront there were some ducks well out from shore and a bunch of gulls bullying two black oyster catchers. Not much else to see, other than brilliant pohutukawa against the sea.

After I got back from my run, I made the coffee, and sat down to a scan of blip journals while S had a gentle start to the day. After this, I rang and spoke to my siblings, wishing them a happy day. S and I then worked together to prepare a Christmas brunch for her mother and our daughter J. Now that we have a proper concreted driveway from the road to the house, we are able to bring mother-in-law across in a wheelchair, and she only has a small flight of stairs to climb to be in the main house. She had a great day, spending 12 hours here before going home a few minutes ago.

This picture is of the table on the deck set for the four of us for brunch. Observant visitors will note that mother-in-law had ginger beer rather than sparkling wine. After the table was fully set and we had enjoyed the meal I used the tripod and a delayed shutter to get some pictures of us all. As is usual one person is not right in each shot, so you don't get to see.

Late this afternoon, son and we enjoyed an iChat. Great to see the Sydney based grandchildren. And great for son to see his grandmother for the first time in almost a year; quite emotional, was he. Then this evening we were joined for an uncomplicated meal, by the Melbourne nexus of the family, and the evening is now winding up.

A quiet and enjoyable day. And one of the good parts was reading all the happiness and good wishes from my blip mates. This site has brought me into contact with a number of wonderful people, whose integrity, compassion and mutual support shines though and engenders hope for the future of humanity. You are all part of a daily gift I am fortunate to receive.

I wish everyone all the best in the coming year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.