stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Traditions

Well, one last time, Merry Christmas everyone!

Hope everyone had (or is still having) a great day.


Today's blip features one of the family's traditional. This disembodied Santa mobile was made by my cousin Andrew way back in the mists of time when he was in P5 (1977). It survives to this day and without fail is hung above the front window at my Aunt's every Christmas.

Another family tradition is the Christmas Disaster! Ohhh, we were all doing so well, but in a two minute span normal service was resumed.

Dinner was being served and I'd just put the butter beans on the table and as I turned to go back to the kitchen for the sprouts there was an almighty crash and tinkle of glass. Somehow (forensics are still on the scene) my Aunt had knocked her glass of red wine off the table, smashing it against the wall and emptying the contents on the beige carpet.

Aaahhhhhhh!

Moments later the sister completed the circle as rather than go for the cleaning cupboard she went for the food cupboard (apparently salt flakes are better than carpet cleaner, eh)! Unfortunately the jar of cranberry sauce hasn't been returned to the shelf properly and it fell as the door was opened... right onto the top of the Pavlova base.

Aaahhhhhhh!

DISASTER!

Hahaha, my poor dad who was sitting innocently putting the meat on plates was rounded on by my mum with a stream of words that would make the vicar blush!

I've written them down and will check their meaning later!!! :- )))

So, my faith in the Christmas disaster has been restored and all is well with the world. I'm off to get a bit of smashed meringue for pud!

I'll be back later to catch up with everyone else's disasters!!! ;- )

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.