stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

The Lochs

Well, the Boxing Day constitutional got off to a late start today and it was a really dark, grey, cloudy day, but I took the camera with me all the same, not sure what I'd get.

By the time my mum and I reached the ferry slip the Loch Shira (named after a small arm off Loch Fyne, at the foot of Glen Shira) was making her way across from Cumbrae, so we wandered up to the end of the pier where the smaller ferry, the Loch Alainn (named after the Gaelic spelling of the Loch which she was built to operate from, Loch Aline) was tied up. Two roll on, roll off (RORO) ferries operate during Easter to the September weekend, after which only a single ferry makes the run between Largs and Cumbrae. It's unusual to find the second boat tied up at the pier.

Democracy reigned this day also, as the family gathered round to vote for the successful blip for today. It turned out to be a close run thing, with my cuz and mum going for this and my aunt going for Rope. When my dad split his vote between the two it was settled.

All three of the losing entries can be found here.

Getting grief for blipping during dinner. Tsk, tsk. Off to scoff my second turkey dinner in as many days. Good grief, there goes the diet! More walkies tomorrow to try to even the balance. ;- )

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.