Plus ça change...

By SooB

101 uses for an Aga

53: Drying pants.

A quiet day. Well, right up to the point when I reached into my handbag to get my wallet to book our summer holiday... To find no wallet. A frantic search ensued, including calls to the fish and chip shop where I last had it (not answering the phone) and the police (not able to help me until Wednesday.

Checking my bank account on-line confirmed that my cards were at least not in the hands of a master criminal. The car, house and neighbourhood roads were scoured... But finally another call to the chip shop brought good news. A customer had handed it in, and even taken a blip card to see if he could get in touch with me that way. And the nice chip shop man is going to send it to me. Well, it's all made me feel quite festive, all this kindness.

By coincidence the holiday I was booking is back in that village, so at least I'll get the chance to thank the chip shop man by feasting on fish suppers, pies and pizzas every night (their chips are rather good if you're peckish in Gullane any time).

Now a concerted effort for the rest of this day to banish this cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.