The sky was on fire

Another dawn. Taken from the corner of our property which is closest to the cliff edge. Through the twisted trunks of a couple of pohutukawa. Over Algies Bay, and the yachts moored out from the shore. Just before the sun emerged above the horizon. First photograph of the morning. No editing of the picture.

The sky was very red; even more so before I got my running gear on and went outside with the camera. Less red a bit later. I set out on the run before the sun actually rose, judging (correctly) that there was so much cloud it would be very subdued due to clouds blocking the light.

My run was out into the more rural parts and I was able to photograph donkeys and steers (in different places). Watched a couple of cows each with a large calf, go running downhill with the two calves into the bit of bush. Too far away and moving too fast to allow a picture.

Later today, I did some admin, started a report, took S and daughter J to buy some plants, and then we all went to a late afternoon film at Matakana, "The Salt of Life". Following which we enjoyed a glass of wine and a light meal before heading back here.

All done now, and J and I will play a game of Bananagrams.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.