Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Prêt-à-porter, Gallifrey style

I had to brave the shops today to buy fruit, veg and other assorted groceries after the holidays although I kept away from the sales - the horror!

Despite trying to focus on the task in hand and get back home as quickly as possible I couldn't help but notice this display of Time Lord t-shirts which was just being assembled in the window of Forbidden Planet.

Being something of a Dr Who fan I was rather taken with these shirts which I reckon depict the costumes of...

Top row, left to right: Tom Baker (the 4th Doctor, 1974 - 1981), Matt Smith (11th Doctor, 2010 - present), Patrick Troughton (2nd Doctor, 1966 - 1969)

Bottom row, left to right: Peter Davison (5th Doctor, 1981 - 1984), William Hartnell (1st Doctor, 1963 - 1966), Colin Baker (6th Doctor, 1984 - 1986)*

I'm sure that Whovians out there will correct me if I've got it wrong! This blip is for BethanneElion because I know she's a huge admirer of the Doctor.

I laughed whilst taking the picture because I remembered Kendallishere's words yesterday about "damn shop windows" but I'm afraid I couldn't do this any other way, the window display was blocked off from the rest of the shop! At least the reflection shows a rather cool Art Deco building thus providing a suitable element of time travelishness to the whole business...

*I had to look the dates up, I may be a nerd but I'm not THAT much of a nerd!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.