Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Drug induced rage!

I'm still struggling to shake off the virus I've had for almost a month now and although I finished my course of medication 10 days ago I'm still coughing a bit and still short of breath, so I trooped back to the doctor today in an effort to get things cleared up once and for all before going back to work next week.

My hopes weren't high when I had to see a locum doctor who looked about 15 years old, was unable to look me in the eye and mumbled incoherently at the floor the whole time... However, he prescribed me some more steroids, a nasal spray rather than tablets this time.

So I went to a pharmacy but they didn't have the spray in stock. I went to a second pharmacy which also didn't have the spray in stock. I went to a third pharmacy... You guessed it!

By this time (the whole process took about 2 hours) I was rapidly losing the will to live but I asked the 3rd pharmacist whether she could sell me anything 'over the counter' which would do a similar job to the prescribed drug. Turns out that she could - and it cost 70p less than the prescription charge would have done! Why can't doctors tell you if there's a cheaper available option and save a lot of NHS paperwork?

By this time I was almost apoplectic about the whole situation but there was nothing to do but come home and snort my medicine! So far there have been no noticeable effects - either positive or negative.

This picture reminded me of Damien Hirst's Pharmacy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.