Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Christmas Day

A beautiful morning, the boys sleeping together in Reuben's bed as I wanted to watch them wake beside me on Christmas morning. Fun opening the presents, including the piano, then onto Mass. Reuben at this point was in great spirits after what had been a very rough night for him, but as quickly as he came to a high in the morning, he descended in the car on the way to my cousin Barrie's that afternoon. Dinner was spent with Reuben on my lap and by the time we arrived home, he needed to get to the Emergency Room and sharpish. He was admitted Christmas night for RSV and subsequent dehydration and put on an IV drip. I felt so deeply sad for him and what he was going through, so helpless. No way to spend a Christmas night for him in hospital.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.