Gitama's World

By Gitama

The Sleeping Persian Silk Tree

This is the next day progression of tight little buds of yesterdays blip...It doesn't take long for the unfurling.

I decided to do a bit of research about this tree....I felt that it was important as it had featured in quite a few of my blips.

I would just call it the pink and white pom pom tree and leave it at that. However I was pleasantly surprised by the outcome of the research (which I will let you read for yourself)....the whole thing conjures up magic for me....especially as I had already noticed some of the little habits of this tree.

It's been quite an eventful day today......most of the jobs (not Jobbies BE) that had to be done done and just a few more to go before putting my feet up.

I have noticed that blipping every day is taking more and more time... the quality of the photos on this site just makes me want to spend more time getting it right and as good as I can get it...not to compete but...well.....it's a respect thing ....thank you.

Here are a few of the other blips of the POM POM Tree.

My Kinda Christmas DecorationADYTUM
Breakfast@100 Blip Cafe
and yesterdays blip 'It's Gonna POP'


Albizia julibrissin is known by a wide variety of common names, such as Persian silk tree or pink siris.

Its leaves slowly close during the night and during periods of rain, the leaflets bowing downward as if the tree were sleeping: its modern Persian name shabkhosb means "night sleeper" . In Japan its common names are nemunoki, nemurinoki and nenenoki which all mean "sleeping tree".

The flowers are produced throughout the summer in dense inflorescences,
(An inflorescence is a group or cluster of flowers arranged on a stem that is composed of a main branch or a complicated arrangement of branches), the individual flowers with no petals but a tight cluster of stamens 2-3 cm long, white or pink with a white base, looking like silky threads. They have been observed to be attractive to bees, butterflies and hummingbirds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.