Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

A little bit of England in a French churchyard

We visited the local church during a weekend in Giverny, near Paris, and found this grave of Lancaster bomber pilots who died when their aircraft crashed nearby during the Second World War. I mention the story here with a link that contains more details.

If you live in the south of England with easy access to ferries or the Channel Tunnel, I can recommend a weekend in Giverny and a visit to Monet's home and famous lily pond. I took plenty of images recorded here but I liked this photograph because it told a story, or part of one, nothing that you'd learn in school, just one of thousands of individual tragedies barely remembered now from the world wars. As soon as I got home I had to find out more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.