write and sing

Except in the unlikely event of gaining three points more than TFP for this month's work photo club competition I'm assured of an overall second place for the year, which allows me to basically enter what I like rather than attempting to second-guess the ineffable choosing-process operating in the minds of the voting workforce (or contriving a photo which suits the 'food' theme and involves either a OOH LOOK PRETTY DOGGIE (difficult to source and repellent to consider) or a handsome young human child-being (readily-available and often eating) which both offer an option to ignore any elements of compositional or technical quality) in order to win ten (or maybe fifteen) whole pounds' worth of photo-printing, which I can hopefully add to the similar amount I won last year but have so far not claimed. Hopefully gaining second place overall for the year by getting very few placings but simply entering every month without exception (for which two points are awarded) will encourage other people to enter, though in many months there were often only three or four entries, with not even all the committee bothering their arses to send something in. Admittedly they don't all have the advantage TFP and I have of a six-year-old at-least-one-photo-a-day habit (which, even during the non-conventional-themed months, usually results in a usable picture somewhere on Blip which can be downloaded and entered from work on the entry deadline date) but it does sometimes make the whole monthly-competition thing look like a bit of a joke. After I had captured or killed most of the little flies infesting the kitchen (the attractant of which eventually turned out to be a packet of overgrown potatoes on the tajine on top of the cupboards, where I had moved them from the worktop some months ago in order to prevent them going green in the sunlight) I added a few more to the two which had been naturally trapped in the oil in which some parsnips had been roasted so that I'd have at least one picture prepared in case I forget to take something else to fit the theme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.