Docadiem

By Kathee

Always in motion is the future.-- Yoda

Camera in hand, I walk across the street to our best friend's house. Or should I say ex-house.Been empty, since he had to move across-town. I know. No big deal. Just 20 minutes away.
I walk around to the back. Blank windows show my reflection overlaid with the image of a house devoid of life. It's in limbo. A smattering of useless items left behind, wait to be tossed or given away by new owners, whoever they are.
When we moved to Arizona 10 years ago, he was the first person we met. A bond formed immediately, and we referred to ourselves as family. When big issues hit our lives like a smack across the face, we called family meetings to brain storm solutions.
Yet, I resist. I want the laughter and the sharing as close as a walk across the street.
Ah, change. it happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.