Still standing

I knew my home was still standing but it's a relief to see it steady and strong. The saying "as safe as houses" doesn't mean much to many people in Christchurch any more.

Yes, home again and I've had the obligatory welcome back quake just to remind me of where I live :-(

Returning it has struck me as never before just what a different place I live in. The difference in people's faces and body language is staggering compared to the north where I've been and here in Christchurch. People look tense, tired, drawn and stressed. I'm not surprised and I feel sad that this is the reality for most living here in Christchurch.

I'm unpacked, caught up with my neighbours, dealt with some of the triphod-like silver beet, collected the Fur Child from the 5-star luxury cat accommodation, spoken to the hunter, picked up whatever came down in the earthquakes (not much) and cleaned up a little of the earthquake dust, lumps of plaster etc.

Tomorrow I'll get stuck in with the vacuum cleaner and duster. I always have a sense of reclaiming and feel better when I get rid of earthquake dust and debris.

Now it's time to face my fear and anxiety and head to bed. Yes, I sleep upstairs but at the other end of the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.