Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Crumpled

What a lazy day!

It isn't as if things have been especially hectic this Christmas, but I guess all the running around last week and then the late night on Christmas Eve and keeping Carl's young nephew entertained on Christmas Day and the deep intellectual challenge of yesterday's Jenga session have finally caught up with me.

The condition of this crumpled paper bag which one of the very few Christmas cards I bought came in neatly sums up how I was feeling today (a deflated balloon would do pretty well also). All I remember is watching the first episode of the BBC's new dramatisation of Great Expectations this evening. I'm in two minds about it. The opening scenes were excellent, and the young Pip was superb, but Miss Havisham looks too young and her monotonous sing-song delivery grates a bit. Principally, though, Estella, both as a girl and as a young woman, just doesn't look attractive enough to make the impression on Pip which Dickens describes and the dramatisation expects us to believe. Marks out of 10? 8 would be fair, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.