In The Occupied Territory

By FinHall

Steps

These steps go from West North Street, near where my dad was born, up to The Gallowgate. They are an extension of Seamount Place. They are really quite old and worn. They are not used nearly as much as they used to be at all. They go up to St Margaret's Episcopalian Church. This is the church where my Dad's Mum was a member. I had never been inside it until my Granny's funeral 10 years ago, and knew nothing about it. Although it is a Scottish Church, it's religious basis is C of E. I must have been baptised there, as as a kid and teenager I always had to put C of E as my religion on forms. It always puzzled me why I had to do that.
I believe that my granny's dad and his parents and sisters must have joined that church when they fled Ireland ( Eire) at the end of the 19th century after a brother of my great, great grandfather tried to blow up a train in the early days of the troubles.
I have no idea if they were Catholics or not, but Anglicism has all the rituals and bishops etc of Catholicism, but without the guilt. So maybe...
Anyway I am an devout atheist, as my mother's mum was a member of the Pentecostal church which was sort of forced upon me as a child. Right up until I left school.
I prefer logic and science now, and like my fairy tales to be just that.
This is my last day of work for the year, so I am now off to deal with the huddling, or otherwise, masses.
Oh by the way, the song link is certainly not the turgid pop band.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.