Let There Be Light

By solli

Ode To Georgia O'Keefe

It was a day of surprises. I arrived at the pond at the exact moment the hawk swooped in to land on a tree directly across from my car. There was no sign of Harry but I was very happy with the hawk and set about to get my equipment out of the back hatch.

I hadn't taken three steps when I heard the most unbelievably bone chilling, loud, angry call. RAAWWWWKKK RAAAWWWK RAAAWWWK. It was the heron, wings extended as he lifted off from God knows where to make a half circle in front of me before he flew away towards Upper Echo Lake. I stood in stunned astonishment.

Somewhat disappointed since the hawk also flew away, I trudged off to explore a little path that led me to where the Titmouse, Nuthatch, Red Woody, and Cardinal feed. Further along the path, I came across the carcass of a much larger bird with feathers intact, a fairly large ribcage, different sized scattered bones and a skull.

One couldn't help but to feel very much in tune with the spiritual rythm and flow of all things, alpha and omega, the beginning and ending of cycles, the ending of this year and the question of what the future will bring.

Georgia O'Keefe was an American artist who intuitively understood these rythms as she expressed them in her paintings of bones and flowers.

It's December 31st, so I'd like to wish everyone a very Happy New Year. I'm hopng 2012 brings good health, prosperity, love, joy, peace and excellent photo opportunities to all in blipland! <3





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.