Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Rodent Room!

This used to be my study. And, if you'd seen it at the start of 2011, you would definitely have said it was a study or a music room! Now, however, it's rapidly becoming a home for rodents - there are now six permanent residents living there!

From left to right, you can see Laura's bedroom and hamster igloo with "The Pompidou Bit" leading down to her main cage, then Robbie's little hamster home (both of which are on the filing cabinet full of maths materials). Behind Robbie's home, on the futon, is George and Henry's first home here - they were in the yellow sputnik house when I took this picture. Then, on top of the table, next to the music stand, is Charlie and Moses's cage - I plan to extend that cage upwards in the New Year, as long as everything goes to plan when George and Henry move in there.

On the extreme right, you can see a little bit of my desk, and behind George and Henry's cage, you can see my acoustic viola. The electric viola and bass guitar have now moved into our bedroom in order to accommodate George and Henry's cage!

Organizing our house is a bit like doing a perpetually changing giant 3D jigsaw!

Anyway, I wanted to do something lovely today, as I've been looking back at 2011 and some of the lovely stuff, and I think that getting a rodent family has been one of the very best things I've done this year. I wrote a blog post yesterday about how I came to acquire a rodent family and then another one today about some of what has happened in 2011, which you might be interested to read if you're into that sort of thing. I'm afraid they're both a bit long though, so get a cup of tea before you start! Or, maybe, given the lateness of the hour, something a little stronger! ;-)

Today also marks the end of my second year of keeping this blipfoto journal. I started it on January 1st 2010 and I can now hardly believe how much life has changed since then. And changed for the better too!

And, I'm pleased to say that in the whole of 2010 and 2011 I haven't missed a single day of blipping. I now wonder what on earth would happen if I did miss a day - I feel as if the world might actually end or something!!! ;-)

I do hope to be a bit better at commenting in 2012, as I know I've been rather patchy during the last few months. Thank you though, everyone who has supported this journal and commented on it, either here, or elsewhere on the internet.

And I'm raising a glass of pretty decent Rioja to wish you all a very Happy New Year. I hope you'll all find something good to enjoy in 2012!

Very best from me, the Wonderspouse, Felix, Tiggy, Pebbles, Smudge, Dexter, Charlie, Moses, George, Henry, Laura, and Robbie!

:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.