Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Photographic Wonderspouse

The Wonderspouse had decided that there was one particular thing he wanted to spend some of his Christmas and Birthday money on - he wanted a camera.

So, yesterday we went into town and he bought himself one. He's utterly gobsmacked by it - it's so small, he can fit so many pictures onto it, it does so many different things, etc. etc. He's not owned a camera at all for about 30 years, and things have moved on since then!

He was practising using it by taking pictures of me, so I decided to retaliate by taking pictures of him, and we ended up with a sort of "duelling cameras" situation - you can see the picture he took of me here!

Apart from that, New Year's Day 2012 was a relatively quiet day, with one excitement of note!

The excitement is that the little fellow in the middle of this picture is coming to live with me next week. He's from the same breeder as Henry, although another litter, and is a week younger. I've decided to call him Elijah (following in Moses's pawprints as an Old Testament character, and also one with subsequent connections to Mendelssohn - who was my research interest in my days in academia), and he'll be the last little furry friend to join me (really don't have resources to care for any more), but I just couldn't resist him. I heard this morning that he'd like to come and join my family, which is so very exciting! :-)

The rest of the day was spent relaxing, watching Morse and Sherlock on TV, and starting to think about the return to work. It was 1pm by the time we finished breakfast this "morning", so we decided to skip lunch completely and have supper at a more usual time in an attempt to get to bed slightly earlier - we wanted to be able to get up a bit earlier, so the 6am alarm on Tuesday morning isn't too much of a shock - we're going to have to shift the whole day by nearly 5 hours, since we've been lying around in bed until about 11 during the holidays!

Although I'm not going back to "work" per se, I shall be getting back to a disciplined day of study, practice, exercise, housework (catching up after 12 weeks of CELTA), and, of course, making an amazing CV and sending it off to language schools in the hope that someone will want to employ me for a couple of days a week. I shall also return to the voluntary work I was doing before the CELTA started, in order to keep myself out in the world meeting people, which, I have discovered, is actually rather an important part of life.

The days of sitting around eating food and watching the telly are nearly at an end for now!

Been a lovely holiday season though - lots of time with the Wonderspouse, new rodent arrivals, and lots of time spent with all rodents and felines, seeing both our families, amazing food, delicious drink, good stuff on the telly, and chilling out after a very busy late 2011.

Also: thank you SO much to everyone for your lovely comments on my 730th blip yesterday. I was delighted to get a red balloon for the day, and 2 years of blipping without a break is certainly further than I ever thought I'd get! I believe it's now onwards and upwards to the 1000th!

Is this blip thing infinite do we think? Will it only end when I die?

Yikes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.