Flowers In Your Hair

By bethanyanne

"Do you always think this much, Charlie?"
"Is that bad?"
"Not necessarily. It's just that sometimes people use thought to not participate in life."
"Is that bad?"
"Yes."

-- Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I just finished reading that book a few days ago, after finally listening to everyone who suggested it to me. I think that theme in particular was something I really needed to hear. I haven't been "participating". And I'm trying to turn that around. Last night's New Year's Eve adventure in Grand Rapids was a good start.

So anyway, about today...

Sunday, January first. Or: the day that it finally snowed! Or: the day that it took me an hour and a half to untangle my hair, plus half a bottle of conditioner, a broken comb and a pair of scissors. Time for a haircut.

Another boring blip. I was going to take a pretty picture of the snow, but all of my effort was exhausted in the aforementioned hair struggle. So, here you go.

Now I'm off to see New Year's Eve (the movie) with my mother. We're a little behind the times, I know. But it's a four dollar movie and we're cheap.

Once again, Happy New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.