Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

OUT WITH THE OLD AND IN WITH THE NEW

On the left is a 'hobbing foot' - a piece of metal shaped like different sized shoes which supported shoes while they were being mended. My late husband Douglas owned this item and brought it with him when we set up home together.

He sometimes used it for it's proper use of mending shoes but mostly it has been used as a doorstop. As its very heavy it is an extremely good doorstop. In recent years it has been keeping the door from the kitchen into the utility room open so that Bobby can go out through the cat flap in the utility room door.

The " hobbing foot " does have a minus point - you are likely to crash into it and hurt yourself. Just before Christmas I banged my foot on it and a couple of toes went black and blue. I decided to try and find a softer option for keeping the door open.

So I bought this heavy but lovely and soft cupcake doorstop in Laura Ashley - reduced to half price. Does the job well and my poor toes are safer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.