New day - new beginnings

By gudnypalina

Expecting guests

Tomorrow my mother and her husband are coming for a visit. They live in Reykjanesbær, which is located in the South-West of Iceland. Since they are not quite young any more (my mother is 85 years old and her husband is 88 years old), they don't travel very often. That said, I have to mention, that last summer they drove indeed from Reykjanesbær to Akureyri (about 6 hours drive!). But this time they are coming by plane, which only takes about 45-50 minutes.

The reason for their travel is a rather sad one. They are attending the funeral of an old friend of my mother, Irene Gook, who had reached the age of 102 years when she died. She was a remarkable woman, who held on to her grace and dignity until her death. When I googled her name, to see if I could find some information about her in English, I found this very short video on youtube, where at 100 years of age, Irene is performing her daily piano practice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.