Window chopping

Sleepy house thsi morning as I left delegating the dog walking.

On the way to work in Mayfield Road I watched a chimney float down like a feather. It was windy, but could not have been that bad as the MSPs were not making a big deal about it. Anyway blown into a hedge, then a fence, this was far worse than Hurricane Bawbag. Found the first stump of 2012, hid it on the way to work.

The wind stopped me and I could not move forward at one stage. I was passing the shops what seemed slow motion the large window in a shop exploded just in front of me, I managed to turn my back as the wind was blowing the debri my way. A tiny chard of glass on my top lip, left nothing more than a shaving cut.

It took a couple of minutes to calm down, and a couple of us picked up the shop goods that were blowing across the road and placed them inside the shop. It looks like the big windows facing west blew in and to release the pressure one of the other windows blew out over the pavement. I was so lucky.

Anyway dodged bins and Marchmont was covered in toppled huge bins.

In Lothian Road, I kept as close to the building as possible in lea of the wind and at each side street stiopped to check what was blowing up the street. I watched as part of the roof of New Uberior House peeled off and flew away.

Got to work and got on with the year end stats.

Work was a gust of goodness.

Took a walk at lunchtime as the winds had eased, lots of roof damage and chimney pots down, but no xmas tree stumps.

Walked home and checked out the boarded shop to see how close I was to the window when it happened(6 strides).

In blip fashion, I took this after we had picked up the shop goods.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.