Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Live Large ...

As a general rule, the titmice that frequent my feeders don't go for the whole peanuts, maybe because the jays usually get to them first. I put some peanuts out later in the day, and the minute I went back in the house, this little titmouse showed up and decided to tackle the nuts. After several aborted attempts (yes, peanuts all over the deck) he finally found a smallish peanut, grabbed hold, balanced himself and took off. I knew this would be the blip because it made me laugh and also made me remember it is important to LIVE LARGE, no matter what!

My runners up were the titmouse facing off with a woodpecker, His Royal Redness noshing a seed, and a squirrel I believe may NOT be Seymour! I don't want to get too graphic here, or offend delicate sensibilities, but this squirrel seemed to be missing a particular bit of anatomy when she gave me the full frontal shot. So perhaps we need to come up with a name for the fetching fur-ball ... any ideas?

I am still experimenting with manual settings and sneaking up on some fast action shots. It is a trade off between higher ISO and higher shutter speed, so I am trying to find the right balance. Stay tuned ...

Thank you for all the nice comments on little Phoebe and her 6 eyes yesterday. She demonstrated her hunting skills again today from the back of our sofa ... until the desire to nap won out. Our temps plummeted today, and the action at the Bird Bistro went up accordingly with lots of birds flitting to and fro. Much to occupy a huntress like our little Phoebe-licious.

Happy Tuesday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.