Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Doing the Hokey Pokey

It got down to about 10F last night so there was a mad rush at the bird feeders and heated bird bath this morning. I got my second-ever glimpse of a northern mockingbird as he swooped in for a drink. But the finches won the day for me. After watching them through the lens of my camera, I realized that in addition to getting all puffed up when they perched, they kept briefly lifting on foot off the branch. I got a couple of shots of this interesting behavior, but this one was my favorite. This is not something I've noticed them doing before, so I assume it was in response to the cold temps.

My day also included a visit from the DWP's. One of the suet feeders is right outside my window, so I took this woodpecker close up from about 4 1/2 feet away, through the window. They fascinate me.

The "bath" was also visited by a small group of starlings who swooped in for a drink before darting back out. I guess I am fortunate that they don't seem interested in the various feeders, just the water. And, this time, no one pooped in the bath - miracle!

Thanks so much for all the comments, stars and hearts on my little goal-oriented titmouse yesterday! He earned a brief spot on the Spotlight page today, which was fun and unexpected.

Well, it's hump day - the first of the new year...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.