Peaceful rural dawn

I was up early this morning for a run, as I had a long drive ahead. Towards the end of the run I went past this slice of rural New Zealand. A paddock by the road, in which were a number of calves and one or two yearlings grazing contentedly. Over the top of the house the recently risen sun's effects can be seen still making the sky golden.

The large flax with its flower stalks is on the boundary fence. Beside it is a canna lily plant, barely able to be seen (better in large).

After breakfast, J and I set out for Auckland where she had tasks to do. I then continued further south, to Taupiri. Met up with my sisters and brother for lunch and a chat. Great catch up and we have resolved to meet again within a couple of months and to continue to do so; we are scattered fairly widely. As it happens Taupiri is sort of midpoint for those of us the farthest in whichever direction.

Then back to Auckland, collect J and back to Snells. Welcomed by the boys, their mother and dear S who had struggled all day with a severe migraine. Later I grilled the steaks on the barbecue, and sort of sauteed some mushrooms for Mr H and me; all others declined. I must have done them well as they got the stamp of approval as being even better than raw ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.