Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Ghost in the churchyard?

I stepped out into the chill night air. The squalls of rain had subsided but a cold wind blew across the fen and cut me to the bone. As I approached the church, I heard the muffled tones of pealing coming and going as gusts of wind cut pauses in the bells' out rolling. I crossed into the churchyard and shivered. The moon, briefly visible, disappeared behind a cloud. As I stumbled across the blackness of the churchyard towards the door, I passes into the floodlit brightness of the south side. Suddenly, a huge spectral form loomed before me and I started. Towering above me, the figure seemed to challenge and threaten. I caught my breath. The wind tugged at my cap and I moved on hurriedly. As I did so the figure disappeared as quickly as it had appeared. I trembled, pulled up my collar and pushed open the door.

Bellringing practice had begun already and I was late.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.