Plus ça change...

By SooB

Run like the wind

After a fine morning shopping in Westfield with Katherine and Anna, my local guide for the day (and goddaughter), including an arm massage and perfume for everyone courtesy of the lovely people at Jo Malone (and the lovely friends who gave me the voucher - thank you - my arms still smell lovely despite posting this two days, one shower and many hundreds of miles later). There was Lego action too (the store helpfully provides seats for tired grown ups* while the kids build Lego figures of their own devising) and Krispy Kreme doughnuts. I know I sound like an ad for consumer excess, but it's not often I get to shops like this and it was a bit of a treat, rather than the chore that shopping usually is for me. I suppose the company helped.

Later there was a huge lunch at a local hostelry, where the world - or at least our hosts' bathroom - was set to rights and more chocolate brownie was eaten than was decent. Still later, car-packing by Mr B and finally a fond farewell to our friends and the long road unfurling in front of us.

We arrived in Portsmouth unfashionably early for the ferry, so headed off to watch a movie and have a wander about by the docks. The wind was picking up a bit so the wander was cut short to a quick dash around this tower thing, and back to the safety of popcorn world.

The ferry was the usual delight of too many of us squashed into a teeny, overheated cabin, but at least we were spared the usual loud shouty people next door. The crossing was a little rocky for my taste, though it was only the next day that I realised how lucky we were to get out before the really bad weather struck.


* or grown ups who wore very unwise shoes on New Year's Eve and forgot to take them off until 4am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.