Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Birthday!

It isn't great having a birthday so close to Christmas yet after New Year. Everyone is partied out, the post is up the shoot due to copious bank holidays, so cards etc. arrive for days after. Normally it is cold and wet and I struggle to find things to do. Well this year it was wet (very) and cold, but Carys had an inset day so I had planned ahead.

William safely dropped off at T's we headed into London Village, late running trains threatened to derail us. But even with C insisting we got off the tube at Leicester Square rather than Piccadilly and Mummy's determination to navigate through China Town without consulting the AtoZ, we arrived at the Lyric Theatre with ten minutes to spare.

I've seen The Gruffalo before, around this time last year. Although it was good for the kids, it was not a patch on Room on a Broom for adult entertainment. Well I think they have upped the anti, because this time it made me laugh out loud. C was in full pantomime swing with shouting: 'GRUFFALO' very, very loudly at the appropriate times. She sat on my knee through out, which was lovely, but slightly annoying as we had paid for two seats. Not that I didn't want her on my knee, but a huge woman sat down infront of her meaning that she couldn't see. So inconsiderate as everyone else seemed to have sat kids infront of kids and adults in front of adults.

When we came out it was chucking it down so it was a very wet dash to Wardour Street to the original Pizza Express. Carys nailed the whole Piccalo menu while I had a pizza and a small glass of wine. From there we headed to High Street Ken so I could spend the Runners Need Vouchers given to me by Vive la Vie for Christmas. New gloves and headband in handbag, we headed to the museum area. I wanted to go to the Science Museum, Carys wanted Dinosaurs. Dinosaurs won, sort of.

The queue for the Dinosaur Galleries was 20mins when we arrived so we decided to do something else, the human body section. Quickly skirting through the 'how we are made' section (I'm not ready for that sort of conversation just yet), we headed for the sight and memory sections. Carys had plenty of hands stuff to keep her happy and even took some photos to show Daddy.

Lovely Big Girls day out. Happy Birthday Me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.