Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

THE ANGEL

This is The Angel - a statue influenced by the iconic Angel of the North and which can be found at The Metrocentre shopping centre in Gateshead. It was unveiled on 13th June 2011..

The work was completed by artist Alexander Millar and pays tribute to the North East's working class heritage.

Millar, who grew up in a village outside Glasgow, moved to the North East 30 years ago and now thinks of himself as an adopted Geordie. Nowadays, he is known as the man who paints "gadgies", representations of the men who made pits and shipyards the wonders of the world before they were closed down and faded into history.

So today I have been to The Metrocentre. As I hadn't been to " The Sales " yet I thought I would mooch around and see if there were still any bargains left in the shops. I managed to get some Christmas cards reduced by 75%, and a few gifts to put away for next Christmas.

What I was really looking for was a hat. I don't suit hats, I don't like wearing hats, but .... I think I need one to wear at the football as it gets mighty cold sitting there in the open during the winter. So I tried on hats - woolly knitted hats, beanie hats, hats with a bobble, caps, baker boy hats, berets, snood things, felt hats etc ........ but I didn't buy any of them. Every time I tried one and looked in the mirror they just didn't suit me. Possibly I was being over critical but I just seem to look silly in a hat. So next time I'm out shopping I'm going to look for a warm coat with a hood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.