Arachne

By Arachne

Books

Today is my husband's birthday. He is a book-lover and has thousands of them in great heaps around the house about all sorts of different things. So a couple of weeks ago I bought him a book I thought he'd really like and stashed it for today.

Last night he showed me a package addressed to him from Amazon. He wasn't expecting it and was a bit puzzled. So was I, and I watched him pull apart the cardboard. Imagine my astonishment as he opened up the package to reveal another copy of the book I had bought him! He was bemused: "I saw it on the internet and thought it looked interesting, but I don't remember ordering it." I picked up the packing slip and discovered it was a birthday present to him from my mum.

Of all the millions of books in the world, she and I had picked the same one?
So today I went to the bookshop to remind myself that there really are lots and lots of books, and that this is weird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.