Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

The flood

Yesterday winds of over 100 mph battered Edinburgh and in the course of this onslaught, our building lost a large part of its roof. Today there was torrential rain with strong winds. I came back from work to find water pouring through my kitchen ceiling. I am on the second floor with one flat above me. No-one was in upstairs, but to cut a long story short, my neighbours returned soon afterwards to a scene which will probably give me nightmares in the future! Water was pouring through the ceilings of the hallway and three rooms to the rear of the flat. My neighbours were salvaging belongings from those rooms and putting them in the only two dry rooms in the flat. We spent the evening getting buckets and other receptacles to try to stem the flood. I also moved most of my belongings from the rear of the flat to the two front rooms, on the basis that what was happening upstairs might well happen in my flat too. I didn't get a lot of sleep that night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.