Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Outdoor Picture!

I haven't blipped anything out of doors for AGES, but today the sky was blue and the sun was shining, and the Christmas tree was giving its final show outside the Town Hall, so here is a bit of the great outdoors!

I've had a BUSY day! Almost all of it has been devoted to caring for our furry family. Starting at about 8 this morning I cleaned Laura's cage and then Robbie's hamster home, and put them both into the bedroom to sleep.

I then went into town, first to the vet (where I picked up anti-visitor potions for all the cats since it's about time they were done and I'm in that sort of "sorting" mode, and registered George, Henry and Elijah), then to the local hardware store (which has a pet section, where I got cat litter, soft rodent bedding, and a selection of things for rodents to nibble), and then to the supermarket to pick up one or two bits and bobs.

I also went for a short walk in the sunlight - so wonderful to be able to get some natural sunlight after the rain and wind of the last few days.

Then it was home for a slightly naughty, but small, lunch (one slice of chocolate log), and on with the cage cleaning. George and Henry went next - they were a bit bemused at whey they'd been put into their travel carrier, but seemed happy enough. I then gave their cage a good clean, new bedding, etc etc etc (much easier with the smaller cage they're in at the moment than with the big one), and then they had their first "grown-up" free ranging time in the bathroom with me.

They were both very curious and seemed to have a lot of fun, although both stuck very closely to me. George, bless him, nudged the toilet roll packet, which made a noise, and he jumped and then came hurtling back onto me and scrambled up onto my shoulder! I think he's going to be a shoulder rat like Charlie is!

I also weighed them both again - I've had them a week now, and they've both put on 50 grams. George now weighs in at 180g and Henry at 210g. Henry will need the bigger scales for the next weighing - the little scales that I use for weighing lighter animals (baby rats and hamsters) only go up to 250g, so it's kitchen scales time next weigh in I think!

Then they went back into their new cage. MUCH excitement. It was just like Charlie and Moses do, but at high speed. All VERY exciting for a young pair of ratties!

Then I had a short break! Quite tiring all this cage business!

And then, finally, Charlie and Moses had their clean. While they were being cleaned, I put them in George and Henry's box, without cleaning it, so they could have a good sniff. They seemed happy enough with it all, and after a good nose over, Moses curled up and had a snooze!

Then we had the usual routine, and I hoovered up the bathroom and landing and my study, fetched the hamsters through from the bedroom, hoovered up that bit of the landing and the bedroom, and was just about worn out when the Wonderspouse rang from the bus stop.

He's now doing cat litter jobs downstairs and applying the anti-visitor stuff!

Having (almost) 12 pets certainly keeps us busy!

But we love them all! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.