Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Sweetcorn Supper

Today started like a usual weekend morning - lie in, pancakes, and get up slowly.

I had a fairly productive day, making jobs lists, sorting out calendars and so on (I'm finally beginning to make some headway with my own admin), and watching the telly!

Then I went out for the evening.

Or, more accurately, WE went out for the evening.

"We" in this case was me, George, and Henry. We went to see Luisa (who I'd only previously met online, but is the human of Henry's father, Maverick) and Katie (who is Henry and Elijah's breeder).

They were both fabulous - really lovely people, and we had a great time. Luisa had tried to persuade me to stay over, but I wanted to be back to get stuff done the morning after and to be with the Wonderspouse.

However, we had a great evening. The humans had takeaway pizza (wow - can't get that where we live), and the ratties had sweetcorn. George and Henry were FAB little men, joining in with Luisa's six big men, who have an AMAZING rat room, where they can run around freely, with all sorts of places for them to sleep and play. I can only dream of such a room - one day!

Maverick, Henry's father, is a GORGEOUS rat. He and Henry got on really well, and he's a really cool guy. At one point, all the big men (except Dangerous Beans, who was out exploring) clambered into George, Henry, and Elijah's carry box and nodded off! Adorable - a big ratty cushion!

And, of course, I met Elijah for the first time. He's even MORE gorgeous in real life than he was in the photo from where I fell for him. He's just a poppet - a tubby little chap with spots in cute places on his back and tum!

I was also chuffed to bits because Katie was really impressed with how good Henry was looking and she seemed to think I was looking after my little friends well! I always try to do the best I can for them - they're so wonderful, that I couldn't do otherwise!

And Katie brought along some of the babies she was keeping too.

So many rats, so many adorable whiskers and paws.

And humans who share my love of ratties!

How lovely.

Oh, and I had my first ever go on an X-Box - I did level 1 on Sonic the Hedgehog. It was quite something, especially as Luisa's telly is gigantinormous!

Wowee!

So rats aren't just cool little chaps per se, they also introduce me to some really cool humans!

A great evening!

And, of course, as I drove home, there were 3 little men in the carry box on the seat next to me!

Welcome home Elijah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.