A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Obessed with Nature's Brilliance

Lately the sky has been dancing with light and color in the early mornings and evenings. I can't stop photographing it from my doorway. It's been too chilly for me to get outside to get much artistic variety but the thing is, Nature provides its own variety, no matter my perspective.

It's a new year and with a new year many declare resolutions. But I think goals and such should be an ongoing daily promise to ourselves and to others. For me, instead of typical 'get fit' or 'get organized' resolutions (which of course are on my mind), I've been considering charitable giving. We tend to give to charities during the holiday season and then we stop. Why? Do charities need more funds to survive only during the holidays? Do food banks only need their shelves to be stocked during the holidays? Or did we give merely for the tax benefit? I periodically donate soap to some of the local food banks and shelters because these folks need toiletries too. Of course, toiletries are not at the top of the list of needs but I hope it brings just a bit of joy to those who are in need. Sometimes I wonder about those folks and I wonder what their most important needs are. Food, shelter, safety? I don't know because I have those things. But I see that it could all be taken from me in a blink of an eye.

Now to go address the new storage bins stacked in the garage and maybe put some steps on my pedometer (sitting in front of this computer doesn't seem to add steps or get soap batches made). Or should I wait until tomorrow when perhaps I'll catch another brilliant sunset?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.