It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

What a Day!

For fellow blippers.... is it worth using a crap photo when it's all you've got for the day?

Woo.....it was a busy day in my head yesterday but quite normal on the face of it. I can be a creature of habit and my colleagues tend to set their watch by me going for lunch at 12:00....down in the canteen Jason Kenny was sitting on his own munching his lunch. Nothing abnormal in that. By the time I got up the stairs though his world would be quite different as the following statement by Reuters at 12:18

Britain's Jason Kenny has been awarded the world individual sprint gold medal and Germany the team title after French rider Gregory Bauge had his results annulled for doping violations, the International Cycling Union (UCI) said on Friday.

It's somewhat annoying that the sport I love gets so much bad publicity because of doping..... although some of it is deserved. In football there is far more to gain financially through doping and their testing procedures are wholly Dickensian and as transparent as the police service in a Mexican shanty town! Of course it's essential to understand the reasons why some athletes choose to dope because carte blanche condemnation is rarely useful. All I can say is that Bauge should carefully reflect on what he has done and thinks about how his team sprint compatriots must be feeling right now after losing their medals.

The FFC may also wish to reflect on the ban handed out and consider whether it being backdated, allowing Bauge to compete in London, is for the common long-term benefit of French cycling rather than for short-term gain.

Anyway, off my soapbox! Spent half the evening in NTP finishing a report, drinking coffee, eating the biggest pain au raisin I've ever seen and then having a few beers. Very good way to work! I also finished off an article on emotion regulation in cycling that I'm pleased with.

I'm banned from watching Eastenders when Rosemary is about but caught up on a few episodes! Sheesh, whatever you think of this soap, the writers have the ability get do the odd moving storyline that touches the lives of many. Pat's death really got to me for reasons far too deep to blip about!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.