thephotostoryofmylife

By soshanau

Photo 7 #366photos: Memories

7 January 2012

Spring cleaning. In Hong Kong, it is a Chinese New Year custom to tidy up the house, in an attempt to sweep away the stagnant energy and to invite in good luck. It's a bit early for Chinese New Year (it starts 23 January this year) but I've got quite a lot to do if I'm to attempt to clear some clutter in my life. So I'm starting early (and I'm sure I'll get bored and give up soon too).

I'm a bit of a hoarder, collecting souvenirs from trips and holidays. I hang on to old cinema ticket stubs, maps from travels in a certain city, tickets from a museum or gallery, and so on. But I've decided that the memories I have in photos and the memories that I have stored in my head are enough. I don't need to keep things to remember my experiences (although according to this BBC report, perhaps I should hang on to them!)

So I had a happy day remembering my travels to Japan, Australia and Cambodia in the summer of 2006. And I watched the film Walk, don't run over lunch, so lots of reminiscing about Japan today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.