Croz

By Croz

Fac 51

Fac 51 Haçienda was one of the best known nightclubs in Manchester during the Madchester years of the 1980s and early 1990s. Originally conceived by Rob Gretton, it was largely financed by the record label Factory Records and the emerging success of New Order along with Tony Wilson. It was located on the corner of Whitworth Street West and Albion Street, close to Castlefield, in the centre of the city. A former yacht warehouse where I spent most of my social life. My favourite nights being Zumbar and Hot. FAC 51 was its official designation in the Factory catalogue. And now it is a set of so called luxury apartments, with some steel cut out tributes at the rear of the building.. I'll shoot different ones as I pass by along the canal over the next few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.