Today's Special

By Connections

Ticket to Ride

Miss Annie was overdue for a ride in the car and a stop at Village Books for a dog treat, so we took her with us today when we went out to purchase the train tickets for our April trip to Portland at the Fairhaven Transit Center. I'd planned to use this Blip title and photograph Phil at the Amtrak ticket counter inside, but the lighting there was so dreadful that I couldn't bear to do it.

Leaving him to wait in line, I headed back to the car, when my attention was caught by the unusual sight of a bride and groom on the second-story walkway of the building. I sat down quickly in the car, pulled out my little camera, which I carry almost everywhere, and started taking photos through the raindrop-covered car window.

This was the best of the bunch -- it doesn't stand up to close scrutiny, in terms of sharpness, but I liked the juxtaposition of the budding tree and the bride. Here's another I liked almost as much.

Phil and I rarely shoot the same scene, but when we do, it's interesting to compare results. I had several minutes in the car before he came out and saw what was going on, and as I wanted to be inconspicuous as possible and not distract the couple and the photographer, I used my "little" camera because it has a long zoom and was less likely to be noticed in the car window. In retrospect, I wish I'd used my "big" camera.

Phil could have taken a quick shot or two with his iPhone when he came out of the Transportation Center, but realizing what a good blip opportunity this offered, he got his "big" camera out of the car and asked the photographer if he could take a few photos. I think he ended up with a very interesting image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.