A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

A day for my favorites

On my first full day back, I took my mom and step-dad to visit the Memorial at Ground Zero. This is my work, this small area of Manhattan, this is where my walks lead me. I've studied the attacks so long to write my novel, and for my research, that whenever I am at the memorial, it feels as if I'm visiting friends. So I took my parents there, to show them this piece of me. We walked, I explained, we explored, and finished our walk in my favorite piece of New York, Battery Park.

Later, I took them to one of my favorite restaurants, a small french cafe in the Village.

It was just a perfect way to ease into New York, and quiet down all my qualms about this last stretch of research here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.