Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Female Hooded Merganser Duck - Wings

The day started out in thick fog, which gave way to filtered sunlight, and then now seems a bit blah again....we get hints of sun now and then, but it's cold and dank out there! I'm starting to feel much better, which delights my husband who is getting very tired of my coughing fits at night :) This is a doozy of a flu virus that is going around...let's hear it for HAND WASHING!!!

Today the pond was crazy again, although the occasional golfer tends to clear things out now and then, much to my dismay. It started out this morning with a huge flock of the American Wigeons, and then I noticed a pair of Hooded Mergansers, and a male Gadwall. I got a few good shots of the Gadwall...he was heading over to my side so I was able to get some better detailed shots of his beautiful pattern. He's quite a handsome duck! I've posted some of those shots on my Flickr page, so CLICK HERE!

But my favorite for the day was the shot I got of the female hooded merganser duck as she raised up and flapped her wings! Her little hairdo (her hood) was so pretty in the sun, and she has beautiful wings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.