Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Who's Got The Fish???

What an amazing moment to witness these beautiful Hooded and Common Merganser's at the pond on 185th and West Union in NW Portland (Bethany Lake)!! I noticed these beautiful ducks on my way to an appointment, so decided to return and get some photos on my way home. What a "good decision" that was!

I took a few photo and was about ready to leave, when one of the merganser's got hold of a fish. In the next 10 minutes, they proceeded to chase each other around the pond, exchanging ownership of the fish several times. Each of the ducks having that poor fish halfway down their throats, and then unable to swallow it completely, they would give it up, and another duck would grab it and off they'd go again. I took almost 700 photos, and was so absorbed in the moment. What a joy to witness:))

T0 see more photos, visit my FLICKR PAGE :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.