Perfect geekend television

I know it's a complete cheat... taking a photo of the tele....

But Sherlock... isn't it fab!

Now I know some will disagree with me, but I am a Sherlock Holmes geek... I own and have read all the books... I have the complete box set of all the episodes that Jeremy Brett did, and I'm loving this modern take on the subject... Especially the relationship between our two protagonists, and the nod to some of the original stories... Eg the blog that Watson writes and the titles of the cases and the use of technology, and the nicorette patches instead of cocaine... I also really like Mark Gattis as Mycroft although he seems far more human in this series than in the books...

I did also like the two Sherlock Holmes films with Robert Downey Jnr, however I like them as action films with nice costumes rather than as versions of Sherlock Holmes as they don't have the same twists and turns and wit, so they don't seem to fit properly with the genre ... However in my opinion, the two unforgivable versions of Sherlock stories were the young Sherlock Holmes made in the 80's... it's wrong in soo many ways.... and the Basil Rathbone stories as they made Watson unbelievably stupid, which he isn't...

Anyway that is enough of my pontificating, I shall now be off to bed as I have to go to work tomorrow and it's going to be a shock to the system...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.