The Projects

By Louminous

E is for...Eye Eye!

I've spent all day cleaning and sorting! Oh my word! I own so much stuff! I spent a whole hour sorting out the 3 vases of shells and pebbles I have collected over the years. Some of the shells are amazing and the pebbles are unique! I can't wait to photograph them!
I collected some of the shells and pebbles from the stunning beaches in my favourite place on earth...Greece.
Today's photo is of an eye, hand painted on a pebble. I got it from a beautiful little shop in Skiathos, Greece. It is signed on the back by the painter 'A. Bresan'

The Greeks believe the 'Evil Eye' is a kind of negative power we carry within ourselves. If we stare too long at a person or animal we may inflict damage through this power.

To protect themselves they carry a keyring or piece of jewellery, usually blue glass, as blue wards is a protective colour, with an eye painted on it.

The man who sold me this eye paints them and has them set into the walls outside his shop and home. He told me this would protect my house. It's done a pretty good job so far! :-)

Don't you just love Greece?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.