Me, myself & I

By AlisonMM

After slobbing out over Christmas and eating too much me and the OM went cycling today with the Go50 retirement group. I know, I know, I'm too young! (I must say although I was the youngest I was also the unfittest! Well, I do work full-time, I don't have time to get fit!)

We cycled through Brookwood Cemetery which is a huge cemetery just outside Woking. (See my link for more information.)

I've blipped a picture of the Memorial opened by the Queen in 1958 in memory of all Allied war dead who fell with no known grave and whose names are carved on panels of green slate.

We then cycled through the Bisley Ranges which was very interesting. All the buildings are very colonial!

We cycled through an area of woodland where they trained troops during the 1st WW to dig trenches. You can still see some of the trenches.

We headed along the Basingtoke Canal which was very muddy and slippery and just made it back to the pub before it poured with rain.

An interesting day finished off with a well-deserved soak in the bath!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.