The Poss

By PossMan

Culloden Moor

This is the "old" Leanach farmhouse which is on the edge of the Culloden Moor battlefield. Was there mid-morning and the main car-park was deserted. It's a while since I've been and was a little disconcerted as the whole visitor centre has been totally revamped. I didn't go in the building but went in along the side thinking I would blip the battlefield but Leanach farmhouse really stood out in the light of the low morning sun. I think it's been moved as it used to be south of the visitor centre and now it's north (possibly it's the centre that's been moved). In any case it's only a replica but a notice claims it is now on the correct site where the old farmhouse and other buildings stood. The Royalist lines just a hundred yards or so to the west. The main car-park is now a "park-and-pay" although I judged there was no-one around so just did the first bit. There's a small car park (free) the road side of the entry gate with access to the battlefield and a few people who clearly knew the ropes were taking advantage. Incidently the bit near the visitor centre and around Leanach looks just like a field - it may be my imagination but I remember it as being much rougher and more like a "moor".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.