michigan man

By outdoorguy

Railway Station

Back to "work" today...pushing the doctor around the hospital. The first stop was noteworthy.

Arthur had been admitted the night before with breathing problems. 2 nurses went into his room. I think they were trying to put something in his mouth...because they kept saying to him..."Don't bite...Arthur...please don't bite."

Evidently, Arthur was also having problems staying awake for whatever procedure the nurses were trying to do. They kept saying..."C'mon Arthur...wake up!!" They were also saying at least 30-35 times..."Squeeze my hand, Arthur...squeeze my hand."

I thought the situation called for a little jocularity. I stuck my head in the door, or rather...I stuck my arm in the door. Instead of saying..."Squeeze my hand"...I said..."Pull my finger...pull my finger."

I was expecting 3 chuckles. I only got one. My guess is that it was Arthur. I quickly loaded the doctor, and left the 3rd floor.

After dropping the doc off at his office, I went to downtown Holly, and ended up near the old railway station. NO TRESSPASSING signs kept me from getting too close. I'm so old that I remember when the station in my hometown actually had somebody working there, and I delivered their mail.

The Holly Post Office is one of those stations that will accept your Christmas cards and cancel them with a special holiday cancellation. The other ones in Michigan include Hope, and Christmas...up in the Upper Peninsula.

My favorites around the U.S. are Antlers,OK., Bethlehem, NH., Evergreen, CO., and Snowflake, AZ.

I have some friends from Holly. Wonderful people, and I don't hold being from Holly against them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.