michigan man

By outdoorguy

Sammy

Sammy...how I love ya...how I love ya...my dear old Sammy.

A cold but sunny day. 37 degees F. Too cold to stand around and snap for too long.

Shared my spot today with quite a few photographers. A guy was set up at the picnic landing with a tripod and camera and a lens that must have stuck out 2 feet. I approached with my 55-250. I said hello. He said hello. I looked away quickly. I hope he couldn't tell that I had lens envy.

I also saw the first senior picture taking of the year. My...how things have changed. "In my day...sonny...we didn't get to take shots outside. We went straight to the studio...and we liked it!!!"

Remember that? We went to the studio, and we (or at least I did) dressed up in a suit and tie. You got 1 pose...2 at the most. And...I hate to say this...but mine were in black and white. All of a sudden...I feel like a fossil.

Now...practically anybody with a camera and a flash can take your senior pictures. Pose 'em against the fence...leaning on a tree, or walking across the bridge. The kid today had on his varsity jacket and jeans. I yelled from the other side..."Hey Crosby (name on jacket)...where's your suit?"

I'm glad his photographer didn't have the view I had. When the subject was kneeling...I got the low jeans...red plaid boxers...and some lower back. At least...I didn't see crack. Maybe the suit wasn't such a bad idea after all.

Sammy is a pretty boy. His mate was right next to him for a long time...but had just left to head to open water. I like the "fingers" in the reflection.










Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.