Nuts About the Nuthatch

My man cold (the worst kind) has reappeared after I was sure it was gone. Stuffed-up head...runny nose...coughing...etc. So...for the most part...I'm staying inside.

I fixed up some peanut butter crackers, and grabbed a handful of peanuts to put them on the bird feeder. I hit the porch in my fleece jammies, and my slippers. It is 25F. Cold.

In my backyard experience, only 2 birds will approach if you are outside, and it's kind of ironic that they are 2 of the smallest birds. The chickadee and the nuthatch. Both are charming little creatures, and I could listen to their chirping for hours.

This little guy showed up as I was loading the feeder. Maybe 2 feet away...me without my camera. So cute. I went back into my kitchen to get my Canon...hoping he would come back.

Come back he did. Time and again. I was hoping he would land in my hand, but he wasn't that daring. I put some other shots on my Flickr page...including a shot of the sun...which has been in hiding lately.

Headed to the store to get some peanuts, and something to cook for supper. Even with the dreaded man cold...I still have chores to do. "WHERE'S MY APRON? WHO STOLE MY APRON?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.